Health, Exercise Science, and Recreation Management

School of Applied Sciences, University of Mississippi

Advisory Board


The purpose of the RA Advisory Board is to support the goals and mission of the Recreation Administration Program in the Department of HESRM, to advise the program coordinator and department chair on matters related to enrollment, curriculum, and degrees relevant to the profession and accreditation, secure contributions for the RA Student Endowment Scholarship Funds, and to assist in awarding scholarships to qualifying students.

The University of Mississippi Recreation Administration Advisory Board is comprised of professionals from public, commercial, and not-for-profit sectors that represent the recreation and leisure service fields. Advisory Board members provide valuable input on issues pertaining to academics and the world beyond campus. The Advisory Board meets each academic semester.

A major goal during each meeting is to judge and award financial assistance to a deserving undergraduate or graduate student who demonstrates leadership qualities, academic excellence, and the desire to pursue a career in the field of recreation.

Opportunities to Give

Recreation Administration Endowment Scholarship levels:

Friends SocietyGift up to $99

Associates SocietyGift of $100-$249

Patron SocietyGift of $250-$499

Sponsor SocietyGift of $500-$999

Fellows SocietyGift of $1,000

Benefactor SocietyGift of $5,000

Founder SocietyGift of $10,000

Endowment SocietyGift of $25,000

Please make checks payable to The University of Mississippi Foundation and return your contribution to this address:

The University of Mississippi Foundation
P.O. Box 249, University, MS 38677-0249
(800) 340-9542, (662) 915 5944



Name/Title Organization Address
 j_shirkey10 (1) Jason ShirkeyAssociate Director University of Mississippi Campus Recreation 214 Turner Center,University, MS 38677
 m_garneau10 Mark R. Garneau, Board PresidentAssistant Director-Aquatics University of Mississippi Campus Recreation 214 Turner Center,University, MS 38677
 staff_LaceyMcAdams William Lacey McAdamsOwner Sunshine Rec./Scuba Instr. 624 Mitchell Rd.Scobey, MS 38953
 Julie_Chambers Julie ChambersTallahatchie District ExecutiveBoy Scouts of America Boy Scouts of America Yocona Area Council505 Air Park RoadTupelo, MS 38801
 Dewayne Williams pic Dewayne WilliamsDirector of Parks and Recreation City of Hernando 2601 Elm St.Hernando, MS 38632
 Will McNeer Will McNeerDirector of Parks and Recreation City of Olive Branch 8877 College StreetOlive Branch, MS 38654
 headshot_Seth Seth GainesDirector of Sports Development Tupelo CVB P.O. Drawer 47Tupelo, MS 38802
 Deb Deb HelmsDirector of Leisure Lifestyles Oxford Park Commission (107 Courthouse Square)204 Combs St.Oxford, MS 38655
 Karen_dunn Karen DunnDirector of Development SRVS 3971 Knight Arnold Rd.Memphis, TN 38118
 S.Bramlett Stephen BramlettSr. Scuba Inst. HESRM Ole Miss 2208 Scott StreetOxford, MS 38655
 Saris Marina Rick JamiesonManagerSardis Lake Marina Sardis Lake Marina 30117 Blackjack RoadSardis, MS  38666
 Memphis Tennessee News - Sept. 26, 2012 Shea StatenNatural Resource Specialist Army Corps of Engineers 2400 Hwy 315 Scenic Rt.Sardis, MS 38666
 jcgarner John C. Garner, IIIInterim Chair HESRM, Associate Prof. (PhD, CSCS) University of MS,HESRM Turner 219P.O. Box 1848University, MS 38677
 Mike Ballard Michael BallardAquatics Coordinator Germantown Athletic Club
 download Mr. Bubba RobinsonDeputy Director Oxford Park Commission 310 S. 15th Street, Oxford, MS. 38655
 tn_gilbert04-1 Dr. Jim GilbertProfessor Emeritus Recreation Administration 215 Turner Center, University
 Alton Alton PollanResources Manager U.S. Army Corps of Engineers U.S. Army Corps of Engineers29049 Hwy 315Sardis, MS  38666
 Holly Holly HaralsonDirector Jaquith Nursing Home P.O. Box 157-A, Whitfield, MS 39193
 mike_young Mike YoungProgram Coordinator Oxford Park Commission 310 S. 15th Street, Oxford, MS. 38655
 Janet Snook Janet Snook BartnikDirector of Parks and Recreation Liberty, Mo 1600 S. Withers Rd.Liberty, MO 64069






Advisory Board Meeting Minutes